Website CC News GBSA-A

"الوطني للاستثمار" ترعى مؤتمر جمعية الخليج للسندات والصكوك لسوق راس مال الدين الكويتي

NBKCapital AR-latest News, AR-NEWS

Kuwait: March 25, 2019

راني سلوانس: 24 مليار دولار حجم إصدارات الدين الكويتية خلال 10 سنوات

عقدت شركة الوطني للاستثمار بالتعاون مع جمعية الخليج للسندات والصكوك المؤتمر الرابع لسوق رأس مال الدين الكويتي، حيث اقيم هذا الحدث في الكويت بحضور متنوع من ممثلي القطاع الحكومي والخاص الذين تمت دعوتهم للمشاركة في المؤتمر.

وبهذه المناسبة صرح السيد/ راني سلوانس مدير عام الخدمات المصرفية الاستثمارية في شركة الوطني للاستثمار: “نحن فخورون للغاية بشراكتنا مع جمعية الخليج للسندات والصكوك، حيث تأتي رعايتنا لهذا المؤتمر هذا العام من منطلق مساهمتنا في تطوير سوق راس مال الدين في الكويت بما يهدف إلى خلق بيئة مشجعة للمصدرين والمستثمرين للمشاركة في سوق متنوع وقوي.

وأشار السيد/ سلوانس إلى أن حجم إصدارات أسواق الدين في منطقة الخليج بلغت نحو 530 مليار دولار خلال الـ 10 سنوات الماضية أي منذ عام 2009، علماً بانه تم إصدار أكثر من نصفها خلال الثلاث سنوات الماضية، لافتاً إلى ان ارتفاع حجم الإصدارات منذ عام 2016 يعود إلى الإصدارات السيادية التي نفذتها حكومات دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، والتي شكلت أكثر من 65 ٪ من إجمالي الإصدارات خلال هذه الفترة.

وأوضح أن متوسط حجم إصدارات الدين السنوية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي ارتفع بأكثر من الضعف ليصل إلى 81 مليار دولار على مدار الأعوام الثلاثة الماضية مقارنة بمتوسطة التاريخي البالغ 36 مليار دولار بين عامي 2009 و2015؛ لتسجل منطقة الخليج مستويات جديدة من حجم إصدارات الدين التي تنافس بها إصدارات الأسواق الناشئة.

وأكد السيد/ سلوانس على ان نشاط أسواق راس مال الدين في المنطقة انعكس بشكل مشابه على السوق الكويتي، حيث تم إصدار نحو 24 مليار دولار من إصدارات الدين على مدار الـ 10 سنوات الماضية، 70% منها أصدرت خلال الثلاثة أعوام الماضية أي منذ عام 2016، حيث يشكل الإصدار السيادي لدولة الكويت في عام 2017 نحو 47% من القيمة المصدرة منذ تلك الفترة. ومع ذلك، فقد انخفضت القيمة المصدرة خلال 2018 بنسبة 87% الى ما يعادل 1.3 مليار دولار فقط.

وارجع السيد /سلوانس تراجع الإصدارات الكويتية خلال الفترة الأخيرة إلى عدة عوامل منها عدم اليقين حول اتجاهات أسعار الفائدة، وأسعار الاقراض المنخفضة عند مصادر تمويل أخرى، والنمو المتواضع في الاقتصاد المحلي. وأضاف السيد/ سلوانس انه على الرغم من تراجع قيمة الإصدارات خلال العام الماضي، إلا انه يجب الاستمرار في تسليط الضوء على الفوائد المتعددة لأدوات الدين كتنويع مصادر التمويل للمصدرين المحتملين ومرونة شروط ومتطلبات الإصدارات بشكل عام.

وتطرق السيد /سلوانس عن الضرورة في دعم الإصدارات الحكومية الكويتية المحلية والإقليمية من اجل تنشيط منحنى العائد السيادي الكويتي والذي يعتبر معيار أساسي لتسعير إصدارات الشركات والمؤسسات الكويتية. وأوضح ان احتمالية تكرار الإصدار السيادي للدولة أصبحت فاترة، وبناء على ذلك يكون قد حان الوقت للنظر في اصدار سندات عن طريق كيانات ومؤسسات حكومية بارزة كمصدر بديل وداعم لتنشيط هذا المنحنى.

التصنيفات الائتمانية
من جانب اخر شارك السيد/ زيد عصام الصقر مدير الخدمات المصرفية الاستثمارية في شركة الوطني للاستثمار مع مجموعة من القياديين في سوق راس مال الدين الكويتي في حلقة نقاشية عقدت على هامش المؤتمر، استعرضوا خلالها أخر أوضاع السوق المحلي لأدوات الدين، حيث أشاروا إلى ان لايزال السوق بحاجة الى التنويع بتشكيلة ونوعية المصدرين.

وأشار الصقر خلال مشاركته في الحلقة النقاشية الى الاهتمام المتزايد عند بعض المؤسسات الحكومية والشركات الكويتية الرائدة للحصول على تصنيفات ائتمانية كخطوة أولى لمشاركتهم في أسواق راس مال الدين، مبيناً انها خطوة إيجابيه للتنوع في المصدرين والاستمرار في تنمية السوق الكويتي.

وذكر الصقر أن الفترة المقبلة تعد فرصة جيدة للمصدرين المحتملين وذلك بسبب إمكانية الحصول على الدين بفوائد منخفضة تاريخيا، نظرا لمراجعة مجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي لسياساته النقدية.

تباطؤ عالمي
من ناحية أخرى أكد د. سعادة شامي كبير الاقتصاديين لمجموعة بنك الكويت الوطني خلال المؤتمر أن هناك تباطؤ عالمي طال العديد من الاقتصادات الكبرى، مشيراً إلى أنه من المرجح أن يتم تعديل تقديرات النمو الصادرة عن صندوق النقد الدولي والبالغة 3.5% في عام 2019، موضحاً أن نمو الاقتصاد الأمريكي تراجع مع تلاشي أثر خفض الضرائب، ورفع أسعار الفائدة وتداعيات الحرب التجارية.

وأشار إلى أن دول الخليج ستبقي بمنأى عن هذا التباطؤ خاصة وأنها تتأثر فقط بانعكاس هذا التباطؤ على أسعار النفط والتي تشير التوقعات إلى بقاؤها عند مستوياتها الحالية بالإضافة إلى أسعار الفائدة التي ستظل أيضاً مستقرة هذا العام.

وأضاف شامي أن التوقعات تشير إلى بلوغ معدلات النمو في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي حوالي 2% في عام 2019، ويعزى ذلك بشكل رئيسي إلى استمرار وتيرة الإنفاق العام في الوقت الذي يصل فيه نمو النشاط غير النفطي إلى 3% في أفضل الأحوال، فيما ترجح التوقعات أن القطاع النفطي لن يشهد أي نمو يذكر تحت وطأة خفض الانتاج.

وقال شامي إن هناك حاجة إلى للإسراع في عملية الاصلاح للتخفيف من عجز موازنات دول الخليج المتنامي على خلفية نمو الانفاق، موضحاً أن الحساب الجاري الخارجي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي مجتمعة فائضاً نظراً للمستويات المعتدلة لأسعار النفط حالياً وإن كان أقل من مستويات العام الماضي.

وأكد على أن هناك حاجة كبيرة لإصدارات الدين لدول الخليج بالتزامن مع بقاء أسعار النفط عند مستوياتها المعتدلة بالإضافة إلى استحقاق آجال جزء كبير من إصدارات الدين العام وكذلك السياسات المالية التي يمكن وصفها بالأكثر استرخاءً في الوقت الحالي.

وأوضح أنه بحسب التقديرات الأولية فإن إصدارات الدين لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي قد تصل ما بين 50 إلى 60 مليار دولار هذا العام، مشيراً إلى أن ذلك قد يتغير استناداً إلى أسعار النفط، موضحاً في الوقت نفسه أنه من المتوقع أن تكون السعودية أكبر المقترضين في عام 2019 وبحوالي 30 مليار دولار.

وشهد المؤتمر عقد مجموعة من المحاضرات، شارك فيها وكالة ستاندرد آند بورز (S & P) للتصنيفات الائتمانية محاضرة ناقشت خلالها الخطوات والمعايير الموضوعة للحصول على التصنيف الائتماني، وعقدت الشركة الاستشارية أكريد توس Acreditus” “محاضرة عن التطبيقات المحتملة لتقنية البلوك تشين لإصدارات الصكوك.

روابط البيان الصحفي:

Share this Post

Website CC News GBSA

NBK Capital sponsors the Gulf Bonds and Sukuk Association’s Kuwait Debt Capital Markets Conference

NBKCapital latestNews, News

Kuwait: March 25, 2019

Rani Selwanes: Kuwait gas generated US$ 24 billion worth of debt issuances over the past 10 years

Watani Investment Company (NBK Capital), in partnership with the Gulf Bonds and Sukuk Association (GBSA), held the fourth annual Kuwait Debt Capital Market Conference, which was attended by a number of government and private sector representatives that were invited to participate in the conference.

On this occasion, Rani Selwanes, Managing Director and Head of Investment Banking at NBK Capital, said, “We are very proud of our partnership with GBSA and of our sponsorship for this year’s conference. At NBK Capital, we have consistently worked towards contributing to the development of Kuwait’s debt capital market to create an encouraging environment for both issuers and investors to participate in as diverse and robust a market as possible. Collaborating this year with GBSA for its annual Kuwait conference is one of the multiple ways that we believe furthers this goal.”

Mr. Selwanes noted, “Since 2009, the GCC’s debt capital markets have generated nearly US$ 530bn in debt issuances, more than half of which has been issued over the past 3 years. The significant growth in issuance volumes since 2016 has been driven primarily by sovereign issuances from GCC governments, which have accounted for more than 65% of total issuances during this period.”

He further explained, “The average annual issuance volume in the GCC has more than doubled over the past three years to US$ 81bn, compared with its US$ 36bn historical average between 2009 and 2015; and that with this increase the region has leaped into a new level of market maturity rivaling that of its emerging market peers.

Mr. Selwanes confirmed that Kuwait’s debt capital market activity has, for the most part, mirrored that of the region. With more than US$ 24bn worth of issuances over the past 10 years, 70% has been generated since 2016. He then added, “Much like the 3-year trend observed by its GCC counterparts, 47% of the US$ 17bn issued out of Kuwait, is attributed to the State’s US$ 8bn debut sovereign issuance in 2017.” However, he further noted, “total Kuwaiti debt issuances during 2018 declined by more than 80% from the year prior to a mere US$ 1.3 billion.”

Selwanes attributed the decline in issuance volumes to several factors including uncertainty surrounding interest rates, low lending rates from alternative sources of funding and modest growth in the Kuwaiti economy. NBK Capital’s Managing Director further clarified, stating, “Despite the decline in issuance volumes last year, we should continue to highlight the multiple benefits of debt instruments to prospective issuers, including their ability to diversify the sources of funding for potential issuers and their flexible terms and conditions.”

Mr. Selwanes also spoke of the importance to support local and regional Kuwaiti government issuances to further develop Kuwait’s sovereign yield curve, an important benchmark that guides the pricing of issuances by Kuwaiti companies and institutions. He explained that “With the prospects of recurring sovereign issuances by the State becoming lukewarm, perhaps it is time to consider taking prominent Kuwaiti government related entities to market as an alternative to a purely sovereign yield curve”.

Credit ratings
Later on during the conference, Mr. Zaid Al-Sager, Director – Investment Banking participated in a panel discussion on the state of Kuwait’s debt capital markets, along with a group of other leading professionals in the local debt capital market. The panel collectively discussed the need for the further diversification of issuers in the local debt capital market.

Mr. Al-Sager further noted, “There has been an increasing interest amongst both government related entities and prominent Kuwaiti conglomerates to obtain credit ratings as a first step towards their potential participation in the debt capital markets, which is a positive indicator for the potential to further diversify and grow Kuwait’s debt capital markets”.

Al-Sager continued, “2019 may prove to be an opportunistic window for prospective issuers to obtain debt at historically low borrowing rates, given the Federal Open Market Committee’s revision of its monetary policy.”

Global economic slowdown
During the Kuwait Debt Capital Markets Conference, Dr. Saade Chami, Group Chief Economist at National Bank of Kuwait highlighted the synchronized slowdown in major economies and expected the global growth rate, which was lowered by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to 3.5% in 2019 back in October, to be revised downward again as risks have tilted to the downside.

Dr. Chami added that GCC region would likely be insulated from the global slowdown due to its limited integration with the rest of the world in terms of trade. The impact will come mainly through oil demand and oil prices–which he projected to hover around current levels–and interest rates which are expected to remain unchanged given the Fed pause on rates hikes.

“GCC growth expected at around 2% in 2019 driven mainly by public spending while non-oil activity seen at 3.0 %. Oil sector growth would be about flat due to OPEC’s decision on production cuts” he pointed.

He mentioned, “Fiscal deficits are set to widen in most GCC countries due to elevated spending, as the need to clamp down on deficits has become less urgent with the rise in oil prices from their lows in 2014-15.”

He also pointed out that there is a greater need for debt issuance in 2019 due to moderate oil prices, more relaxed fiscal policies, and large part of public debt maturing.
Finally, Dr. Chami stressed that GCC sovereign debt issuance could reach about USD 50-60 billion this year but this is subject to uncertainty related to oil prices and budgets implementation, adding that Saudi is expected be the largest borrower in 2019 with an estimated issuance of about USD 30 billion.

The conference offered a variety of presentations; Standard and Poor’s credit rating agency presented and discussed the process and criteria for obtaining a credit rating. Acreditus, a regional advisory firm, concluded the conference with a presentation on the potential applications of Blockchain technology for sukuk issuances.

Links to newspapers that covered this press release:

Share this Post